Kršan is a small village and the centre of the eponymous municipality.
It can praise itself for its rich cultural and historical heritage that, in some places, originates from the 11th century. The castle of Kršan was first mentioned in 1274, and it gets its current name Kršan or Karscheyner in the 15th century, when it came into the possession of the noble family Kerstlein de Pisino. The last owner of the castle in Kršan was a nobleman Tonetti from Plomin, known as Ecclesiastic Count. "The Istrian Divorce", a medieval document about the literacy and life of Croatian people in this area was found in Kršan in the mid-19th century. Today the castle is abandoned. A very valuable sacral structure is located at the cemetery – church of St. Jacob, the protector of Kršan. During its restoration in 1991 two inscriptions in the Glagolitic alphabet were found under the plaster of the interior right besides Latin graffiti. A two-ship church of St. Anton was built along the walls of the castle in the 17th century. A hundred years later it got the today's form with a cross vault. The organ was placed in the church in 1911.